About


G'day!

My name is Theresa. I am a color loving, open minded, craft loving Mum from the Gold Coast. Those pictures show the beautiful part of the world that I am blessed to live in.

Over a year ago I found a beautiful quilt in a shop and simply had to have it. I was fortunate enough to have my husband with me who, seeing my longing look and puppy dog eyes got it for me :)

A few weeks later I saw a pattern sheet for a quilt in another shop and found a fat quarter bundle that I simply had to buy.
Another few months passed, thoughts of insecurity were churning in my mind.
Then the idea "What is the worst thing that could happen? I might have to throw some fabric and threads into the bin in case I mess it up".

So I started sewing on my husbands sewing machine from ancient times :)
I loved the result.
The quilt still lives on our lounge and is being put to good use.

A few quilts (and happy friends that got to get them) later, a friend in Germany shared some of the clothes she was sewing on facebook and I could not believe my eyes.
Such colorful beauty and joyful patterns.... I was inspired.
Again Madame Self Consciousness knocked on the door and Mister Procrastination came with her so it took me a while before the first dress for my little one was made.

I found inspiring websites all over the place, funny enough, many of these are in Germany, my old home and I only discover them now, 2 years after leaving Europe.


I enjoy the process of creating these things so much and am even more happy to find people appreciating my European multicolor crazy style :)

I recently started importing some of the gorgeous Woven Ribbons from Germany and offer them for Sale on my website and in my ebay shop

I sell on Etsy and Ebay and go to different markets on the Gold Coast.
On Facebook I found, and still discover every day, like-minded ladies, mostly. I love all this color bursting crafting excitement and joyfully watch all the things that are being made.

**********************************************************************************


1. Tell us about yourself?

My name is Theresa, I was born in Germany in 1981 and moved to Australia 3 years ago. I met my husband online, came over for an extended holiday and never left :)
I have a 7 year old daughter and 4 step sons between the age of 12 and 21.

2. How did you get started?

I learned sewing at school but never really did anything with it until I came to Australia. I saw a quilt in a shop and really loved it, a few days later I went shopping in a different shop and saw a fat quarter bundle with the most beautiful fabrics. I simply had to buy it, even though I did not know what to do with it. I did not have a sewing machine at that time.
I begged my husband to get me a sewing machine and he had an old one in the back of some cupbord somewhere that needed a good service before I could get started. I bought a lot of quilting magazines and watched tutorials online and one day my first quilt was finished. I was so happy. The quilt is still my favorite and lives in our house :)

3. What has been your favorite item to make?

I really like making quilts, but also the stuffies. It is like giving birth to a little creature. I also have a very soft spot for handbags. I enjoy sewing clothes as well.... Hmmm... I really am so excited about creating all these things that I only used to buy in shops before, myself now.

4. What are you currently making?

I have all these fabrics cut ready to be made into dolphins, turtles, deerlings (fawns) and horses. Looking forward to some time to make them all happen. I also really want to make myself a new handbag and a wallet. Wallet production for my shop and markets is planned as well as some sewing patterns.

5. Who or What inspires you?

Fabrics, Colors, Textures, Pictures, my daughter of course. My husband also gives me some great tips sometimes. I also have some incredibly wonderful and inspiring customers and friends who ask me if I could make a particular product or object and sometimes they end up being bestsellers on my website or on market days.

6. What are you doing at this very moment?

I am sitting at my desk answering your lovely questions :) Just before I cut out some new iron on transfers/ patches for my online shop and some custom order iron ons. They are really a bestseller in my online shop, but are a bit challenging to present well in my market stall.

7. What are your favorite things?

Handbags, wallets, stuffies, pillows, quilts, beautiful furniture, sewing ribbons, fabric (!!!)... everything colorful, really.

8. What do you find beautiful?

Smiling and happy people, spending time with wonderful friends and family, nature I find really beautiful. The beach, the ocean, the waves, trees, flowers, the sound of the birds, my husband works in the Botanic Gardens in Brisbane (www.brisbanebicyclehire.com) and he has the most wonderful office. The lilies in the pond, the palm trees, the ancient fig trees. I love it.

9. What are your best items for Spring?

A beautiful long, flowing and colorful dress and hopefully the tunics and skirts I have planned to make for myself as well as some new accessories that I will present on my facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/SamiraminaMulticolor) soon.

and many more... always browsing, always discovering new ones...
Thank you for asking these lovely questions. Was a pleasure finding the answers.